Where to start on the review for the latest book in A Song Of Ice And Fire (ASOIAF).

The only real reason I managed to get this far, was because my boyfriend had read them all and I wanted to discuss how the TV Show differed from the source material.

So, as with all ASOIAF books there is a lot of writing that I think could be cut out, mainly because I find the amount of descriptive words he uses actually bores me instead of intriguing me.

There’s not much I can actually say about the plot line without spoiling it.. There are some POV chapters that I have to force myself to get through because I find the character either written too whiny or just not well enough for me to be interested in their story. A good example of this kind of character in this book is Cersei. She’s just not a good character in my mind.

He wanted this. Him and the High Sparrow. And the little rose as well, I do not doubt. I have sinned am must atone, must parade my shame before the eyes of every beggar in the city. They think that this will break my pride, that it will make an end to me, but they are wrong.

It might just be me in particular, but I find the language used difficult to understand at times. Having issues with the language did put me off trying to complete the series many times!

Don’t get me wrong, it is amazing how George RR Martin has created such an intricate universe, it’s just that I sometimes find it difficult to wrap my head around all the information I should remember for parts of it to make sense.

Despite all of these issues I’ve had with the books I am quite glad I got through the latest as I am now able to talk about many different fan theories with my friends and boyfriend.

So essentially this book and its series are only something you should attempt only if you have the patience and resilience to battle through the thousands upon thousands of pages.

Leave a Reply

