Once again this is one of a few Young Adult novel that gets recommended to me by so many different people. And once again in a moment of weakness I bought this book and 2 others, including Book #8, in a 3 for 2 deal at W H Smiths.

There’s a little bit of Park’s POV before the first chapter as a little prologue which actually is set after the story. He is talking about his life after Eleanor, and he see’s someone who he thought could be her but wasn’t, and says:

Eleanor ruining everything.

Eleanor, gone.

He’d stopped trying to bring her back.

From what I’d gathered from the blurb it was just a normal YA book, nothing involving Suicide or anything too difficult to read. But from this quote it seems like the opposite has happened.

From the rest of the story, it is obvious that it wasn’t a usual beginning to a love story but it was written in a way that made you root for them to get together, that they actually deserved one another.

Throughout the story we get snippets of events from the POV of both Eleanor and Park. Personally I prefer Park’s POV, he is slightly less whiny and doesn’t sound like a ‘I can’t exist without you in my life at all times’ kind of guy. Unlike Eleanor who is like that one hundred percent in my opinion, maybe I’m reading the book wrong. The best examples I can find of this is the following quote.

“I don’t like you, Park,” she said, sounding for a second like she actually meant it. “I…” – her voice nearly disappeared – “think I live for you.”
He closed his eyes and pressed his head back into his pillow.
“I don’t think I even breathe when we’re not together,” she whispered. “Which means, when I see you on Monday morning, it’s been like sixty hours since I’ve taken a breath. That’s probably why I’m so crabby, and why I snap at you. All I do when we’re apart is think about you, and all I do when we’re together is panic.

This isn’t, to me, particularly great writing. Or even breaking out of the YA stereotype that has been formed from multiple books being like this.

All in all an okay read but I wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone else, wasn’t groundbreaking in the slightest.

Leave a Reply

